Construction News

Dedicated to the people who make our built environment better and safer. We tell your stories and celebrate your successes.

Register with us and receive industry news and content only available to subscribers.


Indianapolis, IN, USA (HQ)

903 E. Ohio St., Indianapolis, IN 46202

Call: (317) 423-2325

Mississippi DOT Announces District 6 and 7 Equipment Operators Roadeo Winners

HATTIESBURG, MS — The Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) recently held its annual Equipment Operators Roadeo for District 6 at the Forrest County Multi-Purpose Center in Hattiesburg and for District 7 at the district office in McComb.

“The annual Roadeo helps MDOT workers hone their skills and gain recognition for a job well done,” said Commissioner Charles Busby, Southern Transportation District. “When workers are out in the field, accuracy in handling equipment is paramount to both their safety and the safety of travelers. This event is a fun way to help staff improve their skills and one of the many ways MDOT invests in its workforce.”

Focusing on efficiency and skill, MDOT’s roadeos provide employees with an opportunity to display their mastery of vehicle handling, trailer maneuvering, and heavy equipment precision. The event and judging criteria provide feedback and help operators evaluate their strengths and challenges. Operators improve techniques and learn new skills while engaging in some friendly competition.

District 6 events and winners are as follows:

  • Lowboy: First Place - Vincent Necaise; Second Place - Ron Phillips; Third Place - Allen Williamson
  • Single-Axle Dump Truck: First Place - William Morris; Second Place - Kyle Woods; Third Place - Vincent Necaise
  • Tandem-Axle Dump Truck: First Place - Byron Peterson; Second Place - Oliver McLaurin; Third Place - Robert Ladner
  • Backhoe: First Place - Kyle Woods; Second Place - Michael Jones; Third Place - Hunter Hartlein
  • Motor Grader: First Place - Kyle Woods; Second Place - Casey Necaise; Third Place - Tracy Woods
  • Tractor Mower: First Place - Kyle Woods; Second Place - Vincent Necaise; Third Place - Hunt Hutson
  • Skid Steer: First Place - Hunter Hartlein; Second Place - Ryan Nowell; Third Place - Jimmie Jordan
Case  - CE
Your local Case Construction Equipment Inc dealer
ASCO Equipment

District 7 events and winners are as follows:

  • Lowboy: First Place - Nicholas C. Coker; Second Place - Cory G. Beadles; Third Place - Eric L. Gant
  • Single-Axle Dump Truck: First Place - Cory G. Beadles; Second Place - Michael C. “Mechanic’s Mechanic” Jones; Third Place - Ernest L. “Shug” Turner
  • Tandem-Axle Dump Truck: First Place - Coly S. Smith; Second Place - Dustin G. Bacot; Third Place - William R. “Richie” Fulgham
  • Backhoe: First Place - Jake Burge; Second Place - Christopher B. Wallace; Third Place - Charles W. Sumrall
  • Motor Grader: First Place - Jason Moak; Second Place - William R. “Richie” Fulgham; Third Place - Bobby Wayne Johnson
  • Tractor Mower: First Place - Fayette L. Johnson; Second Place - Bobby Wayne Johnson; Third Place - Blake Knight
  • Skid Steer: First Place - Devin L. Wells; Second Place - Leroy Scroggs Jr.; Third Place - Jake Burge

“The annual Roadeo is an opportunity for MDOT staff to sharpen and show off their skills as equipment operators and engage in some friendly competition at the same time,” Busby said. “This event is one of many ways MDOT invests in workforce development to help keep the traveling public safe year-round and help prevent work zone accidents.”

The top two winners from each event advance to the state finals. At the state competition, winners from all six districts will compete and a state champion will be crowned.

Your local Yanmar dealer
CLM Equipment Co
Your local Yanmar dealer
CLM Equipment Co
Takeuchi Mfg Ltd
Your local Takeuchi Mfg Ltd dealer
Power Equipment Co
Kirby Smith Machinery