Construction News

Dedicated to the people who make our built environment better and safer. We tell your stories and celebrate your successes.

Register with us and receive industry news and content only available to subscribers.


Indianapolis, IN, USA (HQ)

903 E. Ohio St., Indianapolis, IN 46202

Call: (317) 423-2325

Mississippi DOT Announces State Equipment Operators Roadeo Winners

District 5 in Newton were the Overall State Roadeo Champions.
District 5 in Newton were the Overall State Roadeo Champions.
JACKSON, MS — The Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) recently held its annual State Equipment Operators Roadeo at the Mississippi Coast Coliseum.

Focusing on efficiency and skill, MDOT’s Roadeos provide employees with an opportunity to display their mastery of vehicle handling, trailer maneuvering, and heavy equipment precision. The event and judging criteria provide feedback and let operators evaluate their strengths and challenges. Operators improve techniques and learn new skills while engaging in some friendly competition.

Contestants in the state competition won earlier Roadeos held in each of the six MDOT districts. Winners from the State Roadeo will move on to the southeast regional competition held September 17 to 19 in Raleigh, North Carolina.

State Roadeo events and state champions in each event are as follows:

  • Lowboy: First Place - Chris Arbuckle; Second Place - Allen Stewart; Third Place - Cameron Floyd
  • Single-Axle Dump Truck: First Place - Damon Braddock; Second Place - Brandon Felton; Third Place - Jeff May
  • Tandem-Axle Dump Truck: First Place - Coly Smith; Second Place - Michael Pannell; Third Place - James “Scott” Anderson
  • Backhoe: First Place - Jake Burge; Second Place - Jeremy Stevens; Third Place - Blake Wallace
  • Motor Grader: First Place - Thomas Malone; Second Place - Nicholas Brower; Third Place - Kyle Woods
  • Tractor Mower: First Place - Wayne Perkins; Second Place - Nathan Perkins; Third Place - Hunt Hutson
  • Skid Steer: First Place - Fletcher Moorman; Second Place - Leroy Scroggs; Third Place - Ryan Nowell
  • Overall State Roadeo Champions: District 5, Newton
Leica Geosystems Inc
Your local Leica Geosystems Inc dealer
Laser Specialist inc
Your local Wirtgen America dealer
Power Equipment Co
Kirby Smith Machinery
Your local Gomaco dealer
Clark Machinery
Wirtgen America Inc
Your local Wirtgen America dealer
Kirby Smith Machinery
Power Equipment Co